WIPjoy

I get to know my characters by writing about them.  The first rough draft is really about me finding the story and finding the characters. I don’t typically know them real well at first. It takes the first writing and a few edits for me to really get to know a character, and even then I might still not know their favorite color. 

On the other hand, most of my characters have been involved in one or two mental adventures, so I have a general idea of who they are, how they react to suffering, and who they love.  I still don’t know their favorite color.

My stories are quick and viseral. We don’t really have time to discuss favorite things. 

6 thoughts on “WIPjoy

  1. Pretty similar to how I get to know my characters too. ๐Ÿ˜‰ First draft is basically me figuring out the world and the characters. In addition to some back story work and tons of mental scenarios. Haha! Also, I love, love the acorn picture on your banner! โค

  2. Abby,

    When you mentally plot your work, do you see it like a movie or do you try to live it from the character’s perspective or do you use another technique?

    rob

Comments are closed.