I started a new blog!  Check it out Here! 

 

Girl%20With%20Lamb-755544Change is brewing in my heart and mind.  Explaining the change will encourage some of you, puzzle others, and mark me as crazy for a few of you – tis life and life where faith is involved.  As all of you should know by now if you read this blog with any regularity, I’m a Christian.  Specifically, I’m a Reformed Baptist.  As a Christian, I believe that Christ is constantly working to sanctify me and make me more like Him.  He asks me to live a life of sacrifice for His sake just like He did for me.  How can I do anything other than that??

In the process of that sanctification, Christ challenges us and pushes us out of our comfort zones.  He seeks to make us holy, not necessarily happy. (Assuming you understand happiness and joy to be two totally different things.) Recently, I have been challenged and convicted about my writing.  I don’t believe anything that I’m writing is wrong, but I have begun to wonder if it the best use of my gift.  This has been a very painful thought process, and a very long one.  I love my vampire/serial killer stories.  I love them.  They are a deep part of me.  They resonate with me.  I cherish them.  But my local church family and my own family are not being served by them.  I have been able to use them as a bridge to a few people in our church and I have forced them on others with threats of friendships ending, but they aren’t serving my body as a whole.

About a year ago, my husband was provided with the opportunity to start teaching in our Church. This is where his heart is, this is where he wants to go as the Lord provides.  As his wife, it is my goal in life to help him in everything that I do.  I want to help him achieve his dreams and I want to grow and mature alongside him, not away from him.  I want to be the old couple who still enjoys each other.  That takes sacrifice.  (And before anyone gets all feminist on me about him sacrificing for me, remember, this is me talking about me, not him, and he has sacrificed for me.  He does every day.  This is not an idea he foisted on me.  He gave me his opinion, of course, but he left me alone to sort things out in my own head, and between me and God.  There was no dictatorial edict from on high, but a loving friend at my side in the journey of life.)  Needless to say, vampires and serial killers don’t feature in his Biblical Studies….ever. So as he grows and changes, I want – more than I want to be published – to grow with him.

What does this all mean???  I’m not sure yet.  LOL.  I’m making a new blog where I can write things that will be more encouraging and edifying for my church.  It’s called a Gentle and Quite Spirit. I’m thinking about taking all the rumbling tumbling stories inside me and writing children’s books.  I hope to have children someday (sooner rather than later) and it would be nice to write stories for them.  I think there is a deplorable lack of decent, fun, and wholesome stories with strong life lessons offered to the youth of our day.  If we want them to stop acting entitled along with all their other problems, giving them more books like Perks of Being a Wallflower won’t help.  (I’m not saying that’s the problem entirely, I’m just saying stuff like that doesn’t fix anything.)  There are lots of thoughts stuffed in my head leaving me feeling like I need my own Pensive, and I have lots of decisions to make.  I can tell you this with all certainty, I will keep working on my stories, I’m just not going to focus on them.  I will use my gift to encourage and edify my church.   I will still honor our soldiers and look for awesome warrior stories to share with you.  I will find ways to express the concept of the Undeserved Rescue which sets my heart and mind on fire!

walk_away_by_iza87The new blog will still include the Writing Journal.  I’ll still review Books, Movies and Music, and I’ll still have Quotes.  Since these are the articles I get the most views and comments on, you and won’t be losing anything. In fact, other than a new layout, more content, and a few new categories, lots of you won’t notice a change.  At some point in time I will shut down the old blog.  This will be the last post going up on it.  If you don’t want to miss out on my Quotes tomorrow, please follow, or at least visit the new blog.

If you want to follow the new blog, you now know what my focus is.  I’d love to have you along for the ride, but I understand that some of you may find this offensive, uninteresting, and choose not to follow me as I change focus.  I understand.  For those of you who are interested, here’s the new blog.

Thanks for reading, commenting, and encouraging me for the last two years!  It’s been awesome!

